Image

Ahhh, well…. 2013 has come and gone {sigh}. That was a rough year for me; well, at least the last half of it. I somehow lost most of my motivation for life; work, school, my health-related goals. Where did it go? How and why does that happen? 

I did manage to buy a house and move… that was rough in itself. We found the perfect house, but almost lost it because it was a short-sale with renters living in it who didn’t want to move!!! They finally did, though, and we couldn’t be happier with our purchase. Not just the house itself, but the location and the lot too. Much closer to loved ones!

I did make it through a semester of college (2 classes) and passed them both; one with an ‘A’ and one with a ‘C’. I don’t usually get ‘C’s’ especially since my tuition reimbursement is 100% for a ‘C’. But I got through it. I definitely did not give that class my all though – I could have done better…. if I had the motivation to do so. 

Ya know, the one area I didn’t lose my motivation was in my new house! Maybe the excitement of the move and having this new house overshadowed everything else. I just love being there!!! 

I also had some health issues the past few months that turned out to be Wooping Cough!!! Who’da thunk it? I had been to an urgent care center a few times because I haven’t gotten a new primary care physician near my new house yet – those places are good for like stitches and stuff, but not general health issues. It wasn’t until I went back to my old primary care physician and explained all of the past illness that had plagued me and that seemed to keep coming back (at the insistence of my BFF, who is a nurse) that they were able to come up with the correct diagnosis and, finally, get me on the right meds. Had some teeth stuff go on too – two root canals and some fillings. NOT FUN!!!! 

My weight-loss motivation is seriously lacking – that’s probably the biggest thing that I lost my motivation for – it happens. Always happens!!! I kept going to the gym, but that wasn’t helping much since I have barely made it one day a week and haven’t been eating a healthy diet. I even stopped making breakfast in the morning because I just wanted that 10 extra minutes of sleep!

Soo…. here’s a list of things for me to work on in 2014:

1. Get better sleep SOMEHOW!!!

2. Time management

#2 pretty much sums it up, but just so I’m reminded, here are the things that need managed:

  • Bedtime routine
  • Work (oh, I started a new job, same company, in October too – my ‘dream’ job of Digital Marketing.)
  • Meal planning/prep
  • Gym (REALLY need to start going in the morning!!!)
  • Tracking food
  • Walking Dogs
  • School time
  • Homework time
  • Household chores
  • Social life (need to de-emphasize this, it’s consumed a lot of my energy. Maybe being so much closer to loved ones is too much of a good thing LOL)
  • Keeping up with my blog!

Here’s to staying strong in the new year!!!

About FitBy40

I am a married mother of a college student. I have two awesome dogs and a beautiful cat. I work full-time and go to school part-time, and now I'm getting fit!

One response »

  1. I need to work on the sleep thing too. When I get enough sleep, I feel better and it just makes everything else so much more manageable.

What do you have to say about that?

