Before I begin talking about day 2, let me first explain the rest of day 1. As I mentioned in my day 1 post I was nervous about drinking my green juice. So much so that it sat on my desk for about 30 minutes before I could get over the grassy smell and was brave enough to take a sip. All my worrying was for naught, it wasn’t bad at all. I won’t go so far as to say it was GOOD, but it definitely wasn’t horrible. I drank the whole thing and felt full or satisfied anyway.

For my afternoon snack I had a watermelon juice that I was very excited about! I wanted to drink it when I made it the night before. So, around 3:30 I grabbed it from the fridge at work and took a nice big gulp…..and almost spit it back out! It was so tart from the lemon in it I could not drink it. I still have not. I want to add some orange to it to try and even out the sweet and bitter, but I’m already out of oranges, I just didn’t buy enough.

By 5:00 I was starving! All I could think about was eating junk food. I felt disappointed with how my day was ending up and that I felt like giving up already. All the way home all I could think about was what I was going to eat when I got home. I had an appt with the new trainer, Derrick, at 7 which is later than I usually go but I had to make up for missing Saturday. So, I didn’t have a lot of time at home before I had to leave for the gym, not enough time to make more juice, and I didn’t want any anyway. When I got home I grabbed the bag of grapes from the fridge, stuck them in the sink to clean them then started pigging out! OMG, they were the best grapes ever! But the best part….was chewing. Who knew chewing your food was so nice? I didn’t realize the value in chewing until that moment. So, grapes, not too bad of a thing to binge on. Since my husband agreed to do juice for dinner with me, we don’t have a lot of other foods in the house right now. I did manage to find some cheese in the fridge to snack on as we’ll, though; Italian blend shredded and shaved parmesan. Yum! I was also craving salt so the parmesan helped with that. Then I had a protein shake and went to the gym planning on stopping at Subway on the way home, which I did.

So, I discussed this with my trainer and he said maybe I shouldn’t go full bore with nothing but juice, but rather supplement my diet with it. I think he’s on to something. I do feel a little like a failure though. I didn’t feel like making any juice last night, I really wasn’t feeling well at all. My stomach hurt and I felt very weak and tired. So much so that I couldn’t even get up and go to work today. Is it from juicing? Who knows. I know my head hurts and my stomach still hurts now. I fully expected to have to go to the bathroom a lot the first couple of days (#2) but that hasn’t happened. Maybe that is why my stomach hurts?

I’m up and out of bed now, drinking juice that I made when I got up. This one has lemon, apples and carrots and I can honestly say it is GOOD! I think I prefer the juices with more fruits than vegetables, but that doesn’t surprise me.

I will carry on with the juicing, but I don’t think I can do only juicing. I will try breakfast, lunch and a snack juice, but eat a sensible dinner. And I will keep posting on my progress.

Stay strong!

About FitBy40

I am a married mother of a college student. I have two awesome dogs and a beautiful cat. I work full-time and go to school part-time, and now I'm getting fit!

What do you have to say about that?

